Meet Mattie Rae

 

When I first met Mattie Rae, she was a remarkable talent with a bad-tempered computer. Thanks to a generous creative community, Mattie ws saved from having to close up shop, and instead, went on to become a powerhouse in the texturing community and a generous soul, as well. I was personally very glad to recieve her appplication for the FAR Hunt Group, and even more thrilled when she elected to join the VIP program. It is now my pleasure to introduce to you, the phenomenal Mattie Rae.

1. What was the inspiration for your shop name?

 

Actually, my shop name has undergone a few changes since I first opened in March 2010. Initially I opened as Indigo Dreams but after a business partnership ended, I changed to Mattie Rae’s Indigo Dreams. As time went on, I realized most people referred to my shop simply as Mattie Rae’s so eventually I dropped the first part.

 

2. Speaking of inspiration, where do you draw yours from?

 

I have had a lifetime fascination with colour, pattern, texture…both textile and non-textile related. My textures are simply an extension into a new medium.

 

3. What first drew you to creating, and was it something you came to naturally? Any training in it?

 

From my very earliest days, I have been an artist and craftswoman. Professionally, I have owned a stained glass studio and worked as a graphic artist. From my first day in SL, I knew I wanted to become a builder / content creator of some sort. It didn’t take long to see that my love of pattern and color lended itself well to creating textures inworld.
 

4. Over time, your style has evolved and grown. How would you characterize where you’re at, from a design perspective today?

 

I’d say my that style has evolved somewhat but not in any large ways. I have always had a passion for florals and rich fabrics such as brocades. I have concentrated on those from the beginning. In the past two years, I have branched out into skins, furnishings, decor and photography but it has always been the textures that have remained constant. However, that building bug is kicking back in so I plan to add some non-texture items again in the future.

 

5. What are some of your favorite pieces that you’ve created and why?

 

I don’t know that I have any personal favorites; I’m usually sort of enamored with whatever I happen to be working on at the moment.

 

6. Tell me about your hunt prize. With as little or as much detail as you want to give, how did you come to chose the design you went with?

I decided to do something other than textures for this hunt, something that just seemed like the right thing to do for the theme.

 

7. If you had to pick one item that showcases your talents best, and really tells the world who you are, what would it be and why?

 

Again, I can’t say that I have any true personal favorite; all my textures are reflections of my love of pattern and color and design.

 

8. If this isn’t your first hunt, what drew you to them to begin with? What do you enjoy about them?

 

When I joined SL in March 2009, there was only one grid-wide hunt in progress. I was immediately hooked on hunting and found it to be a wonderful way to get to know the world of SL. It was during that hunt that

I found some of my favorite designers and was able to explore so much of the grid that I might not have otherwise found. Since then, I have participated in a number of hunts and hunt myself as often as possible.

 



About Ava Runner

Owner of Chaotic Creative Co-owner of FAR Concepts Founder of FAR Hunt Group, a division of FAR Concepts Contact: Avari Carrasco inworld.

Leave a Reply

